Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Visit Rochester Chapter at http://rochester.ieee.org

ROCHESTER SECTION

August 11, 2015

Rochester Section Leaders Contact Information

Executive Committee

Chair: Greg Gdowski greg.gdowski@gmail.com Vice Chair: Andreas Savakis

savakis@ieee.org Treasurer: Bill Fowlkes

william.fowlkes@kodak.com Secretary: Ray Ptucha

rwpeec@rit.edu Awards: Jean Kendrick jkendrick388@frontiernet.net

Communications:

Prakash Duraisamy dsp_prakash2003@yahoo.co.uk

Newsletter: Anh Karam anh.karam@rit.edu

PACE: Joe DeVita j.devita@ieee.org

Univ. of Rochester Chapter:

Wendi Heinzelman wheinzel@ece.rochester.edu

RIT Chapter: Gill Tsouri grteee@rit.edu

Chapters, Council, & Groups

COMMSOC, AES

Nirmala Shenov nxsvks@rit.edu

CS, CIS: Peter Anderson pga@cs.rit.edu

EDS, CSS: Sean Rommel slremc@rit.edu

EMBS: Cristian Linte christian.linte@ieee.org

GRSS: Anthony Vodacek vodacek@cis.rit.edu

LIFE: Henry Simon henrysimon@frontiernet.net

APS, MTTS: Gregory Pettis

gpettis@harris.com Photonics: Bruce Smith

bwsemc@rit.edu PES, IAS: David Krispinsky dgkite@rit.edu

SPS: Nathan Cahill ndcahill@gmail.com TEMS: Chris Cassidy

Message from the Chair

Dear members,

I am absolutely thrilled to announce the upcoming Sectional Summer Meeting on August 13th at the George Eastman House and the International Museum of Photography and Film. This is simply an event you will not want to miss! The Keynote presentation will be Steven Sasson, recipient of the National Medal of Technology & Innovation and Inductee into the National Inventors Hall of Fame. He will speak about disruptive innovation and the story of the first digital camera!

Register today (all early-bird rates for IEEE members will expire on July 1st). There will be no exceptions. See more below for details.



S. Sasson receiving the National Medal of Technology & Innovation from President Obama





National Medal of Technology & Innovation and National Hall of Fame Medal

One of my goals as the Chair of the Section has been to create events that provide you with **return on investment** on your dues! In order to better serve your needs, I am going to employ a "voice of the customer" approach in creating activities for the Section. This is your chance to have a voice in telling us how the Rochester IEEE Section can better serve your needs as a member. Every month, I will post a poll in this email distribution that provides optional events for the following month. Rank these events!!!! The results of the poll will be conveyed the following month. The most popular choice will be pursued the following month -- if the resources are available.

VOTE today -- and come to the event next month!

I hope to see you at an event this summer!

Best Regards,

Greg Gdowski



Sectional Membership Statistic and News



The Rochester Section is particularly proud of our IEEE Members that were recently recognized for their innovative impact in Rochester! Congratulations to IEEE members: Robert Loce (Senior Member), Alexander Loui (IEEE Fellow), John Nieto, and Beilei Xu for being nominated for the inventor of the year award by the RIPLA (Rochester Intellectual Property Law Association)!

Members nominated for the RIPLA Inventor of the Year Award:

Congratulations to IEEE members Robert Loce, Alexander Loui, John Nieto, and Beilei Xu for being nominated for the RIPA Inventor of the year award!

New Members this year: We welcome several new members to the Rochester Section this year including: Joseph Citriniti, Kevin Diehl, Harris Honickman, Scott Leubner, Jean-Claude Pierre Jr., and Thomas Russell.

Congratulations to the Members that were elevated to Senior Members this vear including:

Zach Butler, Sreeram Dhujaty, Roger Easton, Greg Gdowski, Alvaro Gil, David Krispinsky, James Norris, Tae Oh, Dan Phillips, Peter Stubler, Mark Turner, Jayanti Venkataraman, Shan-Chieh Yang, James Zavislan.

Please contact me if you are interested in being elevated to a Senior Member!

Congratulations to the Members that were elevated as Life Members this vear including:

James Cooper, Thomas Kurtenbach, William Petit, John Texter, George Dounce, Philip Torti, and Arthur Trisback.

Section Membership Associate22

Fellow15 Grad. Student75 Life Fellow 13 Life Member92 Life Senior 33 Member 509 Senior Member 85 Student 54

898 TOTAL As of June 1, 2015

Upcoming Sectional and Chapter Events

Disruptive Innovation: The Story of the

First Digital Camera

Presenter: Steven Sasson

When: Thursday, August 13, 2015

Where: George Eastman House: International

Museum of Photography

900 East Avenue

Rochester, NY. 14607 — USA

6:00 - 6:45PM — Networking (refreshments)*

6:45 - 7:45PM — Keynote presentation (Cutis Theater)

7:45 - 9:00PM — Dinner (Potter Peristyle area)

Save the date!! **ARTISAN** works

When: Thursday, December 10, 2015

Where: ARTISANworks 565 Blossom Rd. Rochester, NY 14610





