IEEE Region 1 Members Named Recipients 2012 IEEE Awards

Members of Region 1 have been named the recipient of the 2012 IEEE Awards. Recipients will receive this most prestigious IEEE-level award in a formal presentation at a 2012 IEEE venue to be determined. Awardees are:

Dr. Janet Baker (co-recipient)
2012 IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award
Boston Section
“For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of automatic speech recognition.”

Professor Mung Chiang
2012 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award
Princeton/Central Jersey Section
“For demonstrating the practicability of a new theoretical foundation for the analysis and design of communication networks.”

Dr. Nader Engheta
2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award
“For contributions to electromagnetic theory and applications of metamaterials and nanoscale optics.”

Dr. Subramanian S. Iyer
2012 IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies
Mid-Hudson Section
“For the development and implementation of embedded DRAM technologies.”

Dr. Santosh K. Kurinec
2012 IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award
Rochester Section
“For distinguished contributions integrating research into undergraduate engineering education to develop microelectronic engineers well prepared for future challenges.”

Professor Fred B. Schneider
2012 IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award
Ithaca Section
“For contributions to trustworthy computing through novel approaches to security, fault tolerance, and formal methods for concurrent and distributed systems.”

Dr. Manoj R. Shah
2012 IEEE Nikola Tesla Award
Schenectady Section
“For advancements in electromagnetic design and analysis of electrical machines.”

Dr. Jack H. Winters (co-recipient)
2012 IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award
New Jersey Coast Section
“For contributions to the theory and application of multiple-antenna systems in wireless communications.”

Dr. Pramod K. Varshney
2012 IEEE Judith A. Resnik Award
Syracuse Section
“For contributions to and leadership in the theory and practice of multisensor data fusion for aerospace and bioengineering applications.”

If you think you know someone in the region who may be eligible for an IEEE Technical Field Award, please visit for more information on eligibility and general award criteria. The nomination deadline for the 2013 IEEE Technical Field Awards is 31 January 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.