Maine Section IEEE History

Early in 1955, the Maine Subsection of the Lynn, Massachusetts, Section petitioned the AIEE (IEEE's predecessor, along with IRE) for full Section status. The Institute Board of Directors approved the Maine Section on June 30, 1955.

CMP's research services has archived the Section historical records (such as old Executive Committee minutes, meeting notices, and secretary and treasurer reports) of the Maine Section at the Farmingdale Historical site. These records are mostly complete (with a few gaps) back to about 1969. We have no records before 1969.

In the summer of 1975, the Maine Section's Communications Chapter was formed, apparently through the efforts of Bob Bishop. Also, the Maine Section's power engineering chapter was formed in 1965.

Early in 1955, the Maine Subsection of the Lynn, Massachusetts, Section petitioned the AIEE (IEEE's predecessor, along with IRE) for full Section status. The Institute Board of Directors approved the Maine Section on June 30, 1955. Below is a table of significant dates in our Section's history, from old section records.

Events in Maine Section History

Date	Event
1954	Maine was organized as a subsection of the Lynn, Massachusetts Section.
1955	The Maine Section of IEEE was organized (then AIEE).
1965	The Maine Section's Power Engineering chapter was formed.
1969	The Power Engineering Chapter became a joint chapter of the Power Engineering and Industrial Applications Societies.
1975	The Communications Chapter was formed. (Bob Bishop organized & circulated)
1982	The Computer Chapter was formed. (John R. Andrews organized & circulated)
1987	Maine joined the Central New England Council.
1989	The University of Southern Maine Student Branch of IEEE was formed. (Brian Hodgkin organized & circulated)
1998	Computer Chapter became a joint chapter of the Computer and Electron Device Societies (Thomas A. Carbone organized and circulated).

Past Section Chairs

Section Year	Section Chair	Employer	Residence	Section Membership
54-55	Basil T. Payne	CMP	Hallowell	61
55-56	H. W. Murdock			
56-57	Howard A. Crosby	UMO	Carmel	
57-58	Charles E. Monty	CMP	Augusta	
58-59	Lloyd W. Burr	St. Regis (Champion)	Bucksport	
59-60	Walter W. Turner	UMO	Orono	
60-61	Gerald F. Hart	ВНЕ	Brewer	
61-62	Robert L. Thorpe	Harriman	Auburn	
62-63	D. P. Appleton			
63-64	Howard T. MacFarland	UMO		
64-65	Elwin W. Thurlow	CMP	Farmingdale	
65-66	J. Arthur Stone	GE	Bangor	
66-67	Murray J. Gore	CMP		
67-68	Carleton M. Brown	UMO	Orono	
68-69	Harold E. Percival	City of Bangor	Bangor	214
69-70	Robert A. Nickless	Keyes Fibre	Waterville	
70-71	Peter E. Dunn	CMP	Augusta	
71-72	Arthur V. Greco	Boulos	Portland	
72-73	David B. Young	UMO	Hampden	
73-74	-74 Douglas A. Makinen Vocaline			
74-75	4-75 Allison Whitney UMO Orono		Orono	
75-76	Richard C. Emmons	Richard C. Emmons CMP Farmingdale		
76-77	A. Richard Works	Vocaline	Walpole	
77-78	Stanley C. Koski	CMP	Augusta	
78-79	Ralph Webber	James River	Bangor	
79-80	Phillip Morrissette	Harriman Assoc.	Lewiston	

80-81	David H. Thornton	CMP Hallowell		
81-82	Bowen Marshall	Tibbets	Tibbets Camden	
82-83	Keith Hamilton	UMO		
83-84	Robert U. Bishop	FCC	Belfast	
84-85	Waine P. Whittier	CMP	Vienna	
85-86	John Hudson		Portland	
86-87	Richard Shaw	Tibbets		
87-88	Brian Hodgkin	USM	Cumberland	
88-89	Mark Lothian	James River		
89-90	John R. Andrews	National Semiconductor	Saco	564
90-91	Peter J. McKenny	UMO	Hampden	
90-91	David M. Conroy	CMP	South Portland	
91-92	David M. Conroy	CMP	South Portland	
92-93	Paul J. Lerley	CMP	IP Augusta	
93-94	Paul J. Lerley	CMP	Augusta	
94-95	Curtis A. Beveridge	СМР	Sidney	
95-96	George H. Elliott	UM	Orono	520
96-97	Scott Dunning	UM	Hampden	
97-98	Brenton R. Hill	CMP	Gardiner	532
98-99	John B. Swanton	ECHOlab, Inc.	Westport	558
99-00	Ronald E. Osgood	Fairchild Semiconductor	Old Orchard Beach	
2001	Brian A. Conroy	CMP	Falmouth	

Past Chapter Chairs

Section Year	Power Engineering	Communications	Computer	
66-67	Elwin Grover, CMP?			
67-68	?			
68-69	Edward R. Cowles, CMP			
69-70	Joint with Industrial Applications			
	Charles R. Monteith, CMP			
70-71	Charles R. Monteith, CMP			
71-72	Stanley C. Koski, CMP			
72-73	Stanley C. Koski, CMP			
73-74	Waine P. Whittier, CMP			
74-75	Waine P. Whittier, CMP	CREATED		
75-76	Waine P. Whittier, CMP	Robert U. Bishop, FCC		
76-77	Russell R. Sherburne, CMP	Robert U. Bishop, FCC		
77-78	Russell R. Sherburne, CMP	Keith Hamilton, UMO		
78-79	?	Jeffrey Pride		
79-80	Brenton R. Hill, CMP	Jeffrey Pride		
80-81	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Peter C. Virgin		
81-82	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Peter C. Virgin		
82-83	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Robert G. Kennedy,	CREATED	
83-84	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Robert G. Kennedy,	John R. Andrews, National Semiconductor	
84-85	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Bob Kennedy ??	John R. Andrews, National Semiconductor	
85-86	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Keith Hamilton, UMO	John R. Andrews, National Semiconductor	
86-87	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Keith Hamilton, UMO	Kris Narayan,	
87-88	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Keith Hamilton, UMO	Bob Curran,	
88-89	Ralph Marshall, Scott	Ned Shepard, UMO	Melissa Manseau, National Semiconductor	

89-90	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Lonnie Gamble, Enterprise C	Melissa Manseau, Nationa Semiconductor
90-91	Joseph Thrift, Portland Pipeline	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Melissa Manseau, Nationa Semiconductor
91-92	Joseph Thrift, Portland Pipeline	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	George H. Elliott, UMO
92-93	William F. Crowell, CMP	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	George H. Elliott, UMO
93-94	William F. Crowell, Zurn	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Andrew Frank, Bath Iron Works
94-95	William F. Crowell, Zurn	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Ronald E. Osgood, National Semiconductor
95-96	William F. Crowell, Zurn	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Ronald E. Osgood, National Semiconductor
96-97	James Patton, UM	Brian D. Huntley, CMP	Thomas A. Carbone, Fairchild Semiconductor
97-98	James Patton, UM	Brian D. Huntley, MBNA	Thomas A. Carbone, Fairchild Semiconductor
98-99	James Patton, UM	Brian D. Huntley, MBNA	Joint with Electron Device Society (8/98) Thomas A. Carbone, Fairchild Semiconductor
99-00	David M. Conroy, CMP	Andrew J. Perkins, Perkins Engineering	David C. Potts, Fairchild Semiconductor
2001	David M. Conroy, CMP	Andrew J. Perkins, Perkins Engineering	Mustafa Guvench, USM