Robert Donald “Bob” Lorenz, distinguished IAS member and IEEE Life Fellow, passed away on January 27, at age 72. He received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and the M.B.A. degree from the University of Rochester, Rochester, NY. From 1969 to 1970, he did his Master thesis research in adaptive control of machine tools at the Technical University of Aachen. From 1972 to 1982, he was a member of the research staff with the Gleason Works, Rochester, NY, working on high-performance drives and synchronized motion control. Since 1984 he was with the faculty with the University of Wisconsin, Madison, where in 1999 he was named the Mead Witter Foundation Consolidated Papers Professor of Controls Engineering in both the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. In 2016, he was named Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Chair. Prof. Lorenz was Codirector of the Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium, the world’s largest industrial research consortium on motor drives and power electronics. He was the Research Leader for control and sensor integration and integrated modular motor drives with the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Power Electronic Systems.  Prof. Lorenz was the  Industry Applications Society (IAS) President in 2001, an IAS Distinguished Lecturer in 2000/2001, the IEEE Division II Director in 2005/2006, past Chair of the IAS Awards Department, and past Chair of the IAS Industrial Drives Committee. In addition to his distinguished service to IAS, he was active in the IEEE Power Electronics Society, the IEEE Sensor Council, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Instrument Society of America, the International Society for Optical Engineers, and the  European Power Electronics (EPE) Committee.  He authored over 300 published technical papers and held 26 patents. His awards included the IAS Outstanding Achievement Award, the EPE Power Electronics and Motion Control Outstanding Achievement Award, the IAS Distinguished Service Award, the IEEE Richard Harold Kaufmann Technical Field Award, the EPE Outstanding Achievement Award, and 34 IEEE prize paper awards.