All posts by jschmidt

Region 1 2021 IEEE Medals and Recognitions Recipients

We are pleased to announce that the IEEE Board of Directors has approved the following Region 1 members for 2021 IEEE Medal and Recognition recipients.

IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDAL for groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering or related fields, sponsored by ARM, Ltd., to

EVELYN LYNN HU (LFIEEE)—Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering at Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA 

 Citation:   “For leadership in nanoscale science and engineering, and for seminal contributions at the intersection of semiconductor electronics and photonics.”


 IEEE RICHARD M. EMBERSON AWARD, for distinguished service advancing the technical objectives of the IEEE, sponsored by the IEEE Technical Activities Board, to

 LEWIS TERMAN (LFIEEE)—Retired, Associate Director, Systems Department, IBM Research Division, South Salem, New York, USA

Citation:  “For contributions to and leadership of multiple IEEE technical Societies, the Technical Activities Board, and the IEEE Humanitarian Technology Activities.”






Karen Panetta to receive a 2020 MGA Leadership Award

 The IEEE Member and Geographic Activities (MGA) Board has announced that Karen Panetta, a Region 1 – Boston Section member, has been awarded the 2020 MGA Leadership award with the citation:

“For outstanding leadership and distinguished service to IEEE by promoting women in engineering and increasing the value of membership by engaging all populations including students, young professionals and life members”

The MGA Leadership awards is presented to recognize those individuals who have exhibited exemplary and substantive leadership of an extraordinary nature in implementing activities that support the goals of MGA at the local, regional, national, and/or international level.

The MGA Leadership Award is presented annually.

CEWIT 2020 Keynote Speaker is Nobel Laureate Prof. Ada Yonath

The 16th International Conference on Emerging Technologies for a Smarter World is taking place virtually on November 5, 2020. Our expert speakers include international professionals from healthcare, machine learning, engineering, information sciences & more. We are also holding numerous medical panels, venture capital sessions, and a talk by Noble Laureate, Ada Yonath, PhD.

Conference Speakers
Ambassador Ido Aharon – NYU, Emerson Rigby Ltd.
James Xiaojiang Du, PhD – Temple University
Kevin Ekyholt, PhD – IBM Research
Moncef Gabboju, MS, PhD – Tampere University
Michael Grace, PhD – Mojo Vision
Song Han, PhD – MIT
Daniel Holewienko – Henry Schein
Arie Kaufman, PhD– Stony Brook University
Anthony Kelly – Northrop Grumman Mission Systems
Tong Lui, PhD – Shanghai University
Xuan Lui, PhD – IBM Watson Health
Cecil Lynch, MD, MS – Accenture
Brian Merrill – Deloitte Forensic Data Analytics Practice
Dejan Milojicic, PhD – Hewlett Packard Labs
Sharon Nachman, MD– Stony Brook University Hospital
Satoshi Nagata – NTT DOCOMO, INC.
Nicholas Nilan – Verizon
Kimberly Noel, MD – Stony Brook University Hospital
Huamin Qu, PhD – Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Bryan Reimer, PhD – MIT
Jeremy Sohn – Novartis
Milutin Stanacevic, PhD – Stony Brook University
Bruce Swett, PhD – Northrop Grumman Mission Systems
Yair Tauman, PhD – Stony Brook University
Tao Wang, PhD – Peking University
John Whyte, MD, MPH – WebMD
Bin Xiao, PhD – Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Avi Yaron – Healthya Ventures Lab
Ye Zhao, PhD – Kent State University


For more details, please visit: CEWIT Conference 2020

2020 IEEE Region 1 Award Recipients

On behalf of the Region 1 Awards and Recognition Committee, we are pleased to announce the following 2020 IEEE Region 1 Award recipients. 

Congratulations on your remarkable accomplishments!


Qinru Qiu (Syracuse) – Technological Innovation (Academic) Award

For pioneering contributions in stochastic power management and brain-inspired architectures to achieve energy efficient computing    


David S. Wei (New Jersey Coast) – Technological Innovation (Academic) Award

For contributions to information security in wireless and satellite communications and cyber-physical systems    


Mustafa C. Gursoy (Syracuse) – Technological Innovation (Academic) Award

For significant contributions in wireless communications and networking


Martin Ohmacht (Mid-Hudson) – Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award

For contributions to the development of high-performance microprocessors and systems


Dong Chen (Mid-Hudson) – Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award

For contributions to high-performance networks in supercomputers, including three generations of IBM BlueGene systems    


Honggang Wang (Schenectady) – Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award

For industrial innovation on reliability-oriented modeling and control with commercialization to fuel cell, energy storage, and power transmission system    


Ulrich L. Rohde (North Jersey) – Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award

For pioneering research and leadership in signal processing


Lauren M. Huie (Mohawk Valley) – Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award

For outstanding technical accomplishment and leadership in characterizations of spectrum by establishing a DoD communications framework for all-season, year-round, large-scale measurement campaign    


Ilya Grinberg (Buffalo) – Outstanding Teaching in an IEEE Area of Interest (University or College) Award

For outstanding contributions to education in the power industry


Raymond W. Ptucha (Rochester) – Outstanding Teaching in an IEEE Area of Interest (University or College) Award

For outstanding teaching and graduate course development in Machine Learning and Deep Learning

Habib Ahson (Princeton/Central Jersey) – Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE, MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award

For sustained contribution and development of Princeton/Central Jersey Section activities

Francis X. O’Connell (Princeton/Central Jersey) – Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE, MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award

For continued and outstanding service to the Princeton/Central Jersey Section and METSAC

Naresh Chand (North Jersey) – Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE, MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award

For leadership and sustained contribution to the IEEE North Jersey Section and its Chapters

David T. Clarke (Providence) – Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE, MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award

For outstanding performance as Event Chair for the dedication of the Milestone Achievement Award to the French Cable Station Museum, Orleans, MA


Katherine G. August (New Jersey Coast) – Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE, MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award

For role model actions and activities while rejuvenating PACE chapter with wide impact


Vince Socci (Binghamton) – The William Terry Distinguished Service Award

For significant and sustained service and innovative contributions to IEEE that resulted in enhanced membership experiences and opportunities for its members at the Chapter, Section, and Region levels    



Jason K. Hui, Ph.D., PMP

MGA Awards and Recognition Committee Chair