Region 1 2021 IEEE Medals and Recognitions Recipients

We are pleased to announce that the IEEE Board of Directors has approved the following Region 1 members for 2021 IEEE Medal and Recognition recipients.

IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDAL for groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering or related fields, sponsored by ARM, Ltd., to

EVELYN LYNN HU (LFIEEE)—Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering at Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA 

 Citation:   “For leadership in nanoscale science and engineering, and for seminal contributions at the intersection of semiconductor electronics and photonics.”


 IEEE RICHARD M. EMBERSON AWARD, for distinguished service advancing the technical objectives of the IEEE, sponsored by the IEEE Technical Activities Board, to

 LEWIS TERMAN (LFIEEE)—Retired, Associate Director, Systems Department, IBM Research Division, South Salem, New York, USA

Citation:  “For contributions to and leadership of multiple IEEE technical Societies, the Technical Activities Board, and the IEEE Humanitarian Technology Activities.”